Navigation

College Planning

DePaul College Prep features a comprehensive post secondary planning program, designed to educate, support, and serve our diverse student population. The vision of our multi-year program is rooted in our student-focused and values-based approach. Our intention is to guide and to lift our young learners towards their educational goals, in the spirit of our DePaul Prep mission.

DePaul Prep College Planning offers:
  • Personalized conversations and individual meetings with students, offering expertise and guidance on their post secondary plan
  • Classroom-based college and career-focused curriculum 
  • In-class co-instructional curriculum for college essay support in partnership with our English faculty
  • Junior College Conference with each student and their family to assist with setting intentions for their post-secondary plan
  • Full access to Maia Learning - our dynamic, post-secondary software - offering four-year academic planning, career matching, and college research tools.
  • Direct, in-person connection to college admissions professionals through both our robust fall rep visit calendar and our in-house Spring College Fair.
  • On-Site, school-supported standardized testing including: PSAT 8/9, Pre-ACT, PSAT/NMSQT, ACT, SAT, Advanced Placement (AP) exams, and International Baccalaureate (IB) assessments
  • On-site standardized test prep courses
  • 10+ post-secondary focused evening programs and presentations
  • Counselor-led resumé and interview skill development coursework
  • Proprietary, in-house searchable Scholarship database
  • Counselor-directed college-focused week-long summer course
  • Financial Aid completion workshops in partnership with the Illinois Student Assistance Commission 

Applying to College

Maia

Maia is a comprehensive college and career-readiness platform that enables self-discovery, career exploration, academic planning, and college preparation. Students utilize Maia to organize all materials in preparing for college applications. Parents have access to Maia as well.

Log Into Maia

The Common App

The Common App is a universal online college application used by over 1,000 colleges and universities around the world.

Log Into the Common App

2023-2024 Common App Instructions

The College Counseling team developed this guide to provide you with step-by-step instructions for completing each section of the Common App. 

Access the Instructions

Common App Requirements Grid

Need help identifying what materials each of your college requires? Visit the 23-24 Requirements Grid from the Common App to find deadlines, testing policy, application fees, and more.

Access the Grid

Paying for College 

DePaul College Prep Scholarship Database

We are continually adding new scholarship opportunities as we learn of them. Be sure to note deadlines and requirements. Our database includes scholarship search engines, scholarships for specific grade levels, and college-specific scholarships/scholarship sites.

Search for Scholarships

FAFSA 

The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the form families fill out to get financial aid from the federal government to help pay for college, including grants, work-study, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Department of Education.

Many states and colleges also use the FAFSA to determine which students get financial aid and how much they’ll get. FAFSA is currently undergoing changes and is tentatively slated to open in December.

Learn About the FAFSA

CSS Profile 

Some colleges require applicants to complete the CSS Profile, which is an online application they use to help determine institutional aid. The CSS profile opens before FAFSA and may have an earlier deadline than FAFSA.

Learn about the CSS Profile

Enrichment Activities & Supporting Special Populations 

College Workshops

College Planning Events

April 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Mar 31
Mon, Apr 1
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 9
Wed, Apr 10
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
Tue, Apr 16
Wed, Apr 17
Thu, Apr 18
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 22
Wed, Apr 24
Thu, Apr 25
Fri, Apr 26
Sat, Apr 27
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4